Enigmes faites maison du jeu d'évasion

I’ve talked in the previous article about how I made my first DIY escape room. It was a thrilling experience. I couldn’t stop talking about it for days and weeks. And my friends loved it. And today, I will tell you what the secret was behind the success of my DIY escape room.

It is all about the puzzles. Do not underestimate the puzzles in an escape room. We judge escape rooms by the difficulty of the puzzles. Make them too easy and nobody will get satisfaction. The real sense of satisfaction comes from the achievement. Make them too hard, and people will have a hard time solving the puzzle. Nobody wants to fail, and too-hard puzzles will result in that.

So, what is the trick? Well, I will not reveal a huge secret if I tell you that the secret is in the balance. But how to achieve that perfect balance, that sweet spot between a feeling of achievement, but one that you can actually achieve?

Well, today, we will talk all about puzzles and how to make them at home. Puzzles can include words, numbers, symbols, and everything else you can think of. For example, riddles, crosswords, mathematics, puzzles with physical objects, jigsaw puzzles, and even physical activity.

And with my help, and some tips and tricks, you can create an escape room from scratch with puzzles that will actually provide entertainment for the players.

1. Papier sur papier

Cette énigme est un classique, tout le monde peut la résoudre.

J'ai pris deux feuilles de papier, l'une avec un texte italien écrit dessus et l'autre était vierge.

Sur la feuille vierge, j'ai fait de petites découpes qui ont été exactement positionnées de sorte que lorsque vous la placez au-dessus du texte italien, chaque trou ne montre qu'une lettre. Lorsque vous reliez toutes les lettres, vous obtenez un indice. Mon indice était "vérifiez la borne d'incendie" où j'avais placé un autre morceau de papier.

paper on paper puzzle

2. Texte invisible

C'est l'une de ces énigmes "wow". En fait, vous devez préparer celle-ci au moins une heure avant le début du jeu. L'astuce est qu'il y a un texte invisible sur le papier, qui n'apparaît que lorsqu'il est mis sous l'eau. Coooool, c'est ça?

Vous n'avez pas besoin d'utiliser des produits chimiques ou des encres invisibles, il y a un moyen facile de faire cela.

Vous aurez besoin de: 2 feuilles de papier, 1 crayon, de l'eau dans un bac et une surface lisse (un miroir fera l'affaire).

  • Trempez l'un des papiers dans l'eau pour le rendre humide et placez-le sur le miroir.
  • Prenez le papier sec et placez-le sur la feuille de papier humide.
  • Écrivez votre message sur la feuille sèche à l'aide d'un crayon.
  • Jetez le papier dans lequel vous avez écrit le message.

Vous pouvez voir que le message écrit sur la feuille sèche fait également une légère impression sur la feuille humide.

Laissez-la sécher complètement. Lorsqu'elle est complètement sèche, l'impression devient invisible.

Lorsque les joueurs mettent le papier sous l'eau, le message apparaît à nouveau, et c'est à ce moment qu'ils réalisent que vous êtes un maître de jeu génial

3. Coordonnées GPS

Ce puzzle est l'un de mes préférés, car il déclenche une réflexion hors des sentiers battus. Dans mon cas, c'était un morceau de papier caché avec un grand nombre écrit dessus. Au moins une personne sur cinq reconnaîtra certainement que le chiffre représente en fait des coordonnées GPS. Comme ils étaient autorisés à utiliser tout ce qui se trouvait dans la pièce, il était temps pour eux de mettre leur smartphone en action. Grâce à n'importe quelle application GPS, ils pouvaient facilement se rendre à destination.

Ok, alors comment est-il possible de sortir de la pièce au milieu d'un jeu d'évasion ? C'est une question logique, mais comme je l'ai déjà dit, sortir des sentiers battus apporte beaucoup plus de plaisir et d'énigmes inattendues. Dès que j'ai changé le but pour trouver le trésor caché au lieu de simplement sortir de la pièce, un nouveau monde de possibilités s'est ouvert. Cela signifie que les joueurs ne sont pas nécessairement enfermés dans la pièce et c'est pourquoi l'énigme du GPS est une très bonne option

L'endroit était en face de mon appartement, à côté de l'entrée du lycée. En arrivant, ils ont trouvé une enveloppe contenant un autre indice. Comme les satellites GPS ont une erreur de +-5 m, vous devriez trouver un objet dans ce rayon qui ne peut pas être manqué et vous devriez mettre l'enveloppe à côté. Dans mon jeu, c'était un disjoncteur électrique et j'ai mis un symbole d'électricité à côté des coordonnées comme indice. J'ai même brûlé les côtés du papier pour qu'il ait l'air d'avoir été frappé par la foudre.

Croyez-moi, les joueurs vont adorer cette chasse au trésor additionnée à votre jeu d'évasion.

gps coordinates

4. Plan de l'appartement

Dans l'enveloppe, il y avait une simple carte de l'appartement avec une marque sur un endroit précis. A cet endroit, vous devriez cacher un autre indice.

Conseil : rendez cet indice difficile à trouver, afin que les joueurs ne puissent pas l'atteindre avant d'avoir la carte. 
Dans mon cas, j'ai mis un téléphone portable dans le canapé. Ils avaient besoin de ce portable pour résoudre le prochain défi.

5. Lumières UV

Les lampes UV sont parmi les casse-têtes les plus utilisés dans les jeux d'évasion. Vous n'avez pas besoin d'un type de lumière particulier ou de marqueurs coûteux pour créer cette énigme. Vous pouvez le faire avec un banal marqueur jaune fluorescent et une lampe à piles ordinaire.

D'abord, faites l'encre invisible

Certaines personnes font un vrai gâchis en essayant de réaliser cette astuce. Ils ouvrent les marqueurs avec des pinces, les lavent à l'eau chaude, les font bouillir au micro-ondes, les lavent encore... oooooh c'est un tel cauchemar et un vrai désordre fluorescent tout autour de votre cuisine. Souvent, ces préparations se terminent par un échec et une frustration. C'est pourquoi j'aime rendre les choses plus simples afin de les améliorer. En utilisant la méthode suivante, vous pouvez obtenir le même effet sans faire tout ce que je viens de mentionner.

Prenez une illustration/photo avec un fond de couleur sombre et écrivez votre message/indice dessus, en utilisant le marqueur jaune fluorescent. Accrochez-la ensuite sur n'importe quel mur où la luminance est un peu plus faible. De cette façon, tout est visible sauf le message caché, qui n'apparaît que sous la lumière noire.
Croyez-moi, de cette façon, le message apparaît mieux et il faut moins de temps pour préparer le puzzle.

Conseil: N'utilisez pas seulement une illustration/image sombre, mais plutôt une image de quelque chose en rapport avec votre thème (comme je l'ai fait avec la tour penchée de Pise). De cette façon, même avec une lumière plus vive dans la pièce, l'image est une distraction pour le message, et agit comme un camouflage pour lui.

Ne vous méprenez pas, mon arrière-plan de Pise n'est pas si sombre. Je n'ai eu aucun problème pour écrire le code même sur un fond plus clair, car l'image a été placée dans une partie de l'appartement où la lumière était très faible.

Now Let’s make the black light:

Vous pouvez utiliser une lampe à piles ordinaire, ou même une lampe de poche de smartphone.

Il suffit de prendre un morceau de ruban adhésif transparent et de le coller sur la lampe de poche/la lampe à piles. Ensuite, prenez un surligneur de couleur bleue et colorez-le. Prenez un autre morceau de ruban adhésif, placez-le sur le premier ruban et colorez-le avec le surligneur bleu. Répétez cette opération 5 fois et vous obtenez une lumière noire faite maison.

6. Application de reconnaissance faciale

Si vous voulez utiliser des puzzles de haute technologie, celui-ci est intéressant.

J'ai imprimé toutes sortes de photos liées à l'Italie et je les ai mises dans mon appartement. L'une de ces photos était le visage de Léonard de Vinci. Pendant le jeu, ils doivent utiliser le téléphone portable qu'ils trouvent sur le canapé. En fait, lorsqu'ils déverrouillent le smartphone, ils trouvent une application de reconnaissance faciale (cette application sert à déverrouiller d'autres applications mobiles). Lorsqu'ils scannent le visage de De Vinci à l'aide de l'application, un code à 4 chiffres apparaît. Vous pouvez utiliser l'application de reconnaissance faciale et vocale Applock pour faire ce puzzle. Au fait, merci à Da Vinci pour votre aide.

face recognition app

7. Code Morse

En craquant du code Morse vous fait sentir comme Alan Turing décodant la machine Enigma pendant la seconde guerre mondiale. En utilisant le code Morse, vous pouvez transformer les signaux lumineux, vocaux et sonores en informations textuelles.

Par exemple: Installez une application de code Morse sur votre smartphone. Dans l'application, écrivez la combinaison qui ouvre votre cadenas. Retirez l'ampoule de votre plafonnier et placez le téléphone à cet endroit.

Assurez-vous que votre téléphone dispose d'une batterie suffisante pour transmettre le code Morse de la lampe de poche pendant au moins une heure. À un moment donné du jeu, les joueurs trouvent un alphabet morse. Ahaaaaa, la lampe n'est pas cassée après tout, c'est un message codé.

Donc, quand ils déchiffrent le code, ils ouvrent le verrou qui les mène au prochain défi. Cette énigme n'est pas facile, mais lorsqu'ils la résolvent enfin, les joueurs ont une grande estime d'eux-mêmes et un sentiment d'accomplissement.

8. Tiny Tiny Tiny tiny text

Cela les fera loucher comme Clint, jusqu'à ce qu'ils trouvent la loupe que vous devez mettre dans certaines des boîtes fermées à clé. Écrivez votre indice en Times new roman (taille de police 2) sur une feuille de papier ordinaire, mais assurez-vous qu'il est imprimé sur une imprimante laser de bonne qualité. Voyons qui a besoin d'une nouvelle paire de lunettes.

tiny puzzle
tiny puzzle

9. Questions personnalisées

C'est une bonne façon de conclure votre jeu de la salle d'évasion. Comme vous allez organiser ce jeu pour vos proches, vos amis ou votre famille, je suppose que vous connaissez déjà très bien chacun d'entre eux. Vous savez ce qu'ils aiment, leur chanson préférée, leur nourriture, leur artiste favori, etc. Vous avez probablement des blagues privées que vous êtes les seuls à connaître.

Par exemple: Un de mes amis aime l'astronomie et sait beaucoup de choses sur l'Univers, notre système solaire, etc. J'ai donc écrit une question dont il connaît certainement la réponse (par exemple : Combien y a-t-il de planètes dans notre système solaire ?)

Un autre de mes amis est un grand fan de la NBA, donc ma question pour lui était : Combien de titres NBA Michael Jordan a-t-il gagné?

Quand ils font le calcul, ils obtiennent la combinaison (dans ce cas 1990) du dernier verrou qui ouvre la boîte au "trésor".

Ce puzzle les fait travailler ensemble plus que tout autre puzzle.

Toutes ces questions doivent recevoir une réponse numérique.

custom questions

10. Jeux et tâches interactifs

Tous les défis ne doivent pas nécessairement être des énigmes logiques. Bien sûr, lorsque vous pensez à un jeu d'évasion, la première chose qui vous vient à l'esprit sont les défis intellectuels et les énigmes. Mais pour que le jeu reste fluide, vous devez inclure des défis qui ne nécessitent pas de réflexion réelle, mais qui impliquent simplement l'exécution de certaines tâches.

Par exemple: Trouver une clé cachée dans la pièce n'est pas une tâche que vous devez résoudre, vous devez juste inspecter chaque coin de cette pièce et la voilà.

Le fait de devoir relier des points pour faire apparaître des indices est également un bon exemple. Tout le monde peut le faire en suivant les instructions données pour relier les points.

Ces tâches donnent le rythme du jeu, et c'est un excellent moyen de donner aux joueurs un sentiment d'accomplissement. Leur estime de soi augmente à mesure qu'ils résolvent ce défi, de sorte qu'ils deviennent plus enthousiastes à l'idée de terminer le jeu.

Sometimes players can struggle when solving logical puzzles, and if you set up only logical challenges it may even become tedious. Maybe at first they will love to show how smart they really are, but eventually they may get tired of logical analysis. That’s why you should mix things up with this kind of tasks, which will keep the excitement throughout the whole game.

Vous pouvez même ajouter un jeu interactif afin de résoudre certains des défis.

Par exemple: Mettez un des indices hors de portée, mais toujours visible. Une option consiste à placer un indice (code de cadenas) dans une autre pièce et à verrouiller la porte avec un cadenas et une chaîne. De cette façon, la porte peut être entrouverte juste assez pour que l'indice soit visible, mais pas assez pour que les joueurs puissent entrer dans la pièce. 
Now, in front of the clue, place a piece of paper with an illustration of a target, covering the padlock code. They need to shoot the target with a bunch of rubber bands. When you hear a ”Yaaaaaay!”, you know that someone hit the target and under it the padlock code was revealed.

Enfin et surtout

Utilisez votre imagination, faites passer votre créativité au niveau supérieur, essayez d'ajouter des idées inhabituelles, réveillez l'enfant qui est en vous et vous serez étonné du résultat. Les gens ignorent souvent à quel point ils sont capables jusqu'à ce qu'ils mettent leur cœur et leur âme dans quelque chose qu'ils aiment.

Mon équipe de jeu d'évasion a tout de suite senti à quel point j'ai mis de l'amour dans le jeu. Il n'était pas décoré avec des objets coûteux, il ne comportait pas de gadgets de luxe et n'était pas non plus parfait à 100 %. Mais nous tous (moi y compris) avons passé le meilleur moment de notre vie, comparé à toutes les autres jeux d'évasion que nous avons essayés auparavant. De l'énergie positive, des sourires, des rires, des photos amusantes de mon équipe qui traînent dans la pièce, des blagues entre les lignes des puzzles... on ne peut pas vivre cette expérience dans une autre pièce du monde, sauf dans sa propre pièce de jeu d'évasion !

Our Ready To Play Kits

cover

Saving The Beauty Of Winter

cover

Houdini’s Secret Room

wooka booka island

L’ÎLE WOOKA BOOKA

Sharing is caring!

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

HALLOWEEN SALE

DIY Escape Room Puzzles

I’ve talked in the previous article about how I made my first DIY escape room. It was a thrilling experience. I couldn’t stop talking about it for days and weeks. And my friends loved it. And today, I will tell you what the secret was behind the success of my DIY escape room.

It is all about the puzzles. Do not underestimate the puzzles in an escape room. We judge escape rooms by the difficulty of the puzzles. Make them too easy and nobody will get satisfaction. The real sense of satisfaction comes from the achievement. Make them too hard, and people will have a hard time solving the puzzle. Nobody wants to fail, and too-hard puzzles will result in that.

So, what is the trick? Well, I will not reveal a huge secret if I tell you that the secret is in the balance. But how to achieve that perfect balance, that sweet spot between a feeling of achievement, but one that you can actually achieve?

Well, today, we will talk all about puzzles and how to make them at home. Puzzles can include words, numbers, symbols, and everything else you can think of. For example, riddles, crosswords, mathematics, puzzles with physical objects, jigsaw puzzles, and even physical activity.

And with my help, and some tips and tricks, you can create an escape room from scratch with puzzles that will actually provide entertainment for the players.

1. Paper on Paper

This puzzle is a classic, anyone can figure it out.

What I did is I took two sheets of paper, one with Italian text written on it and the second one was blank.

On the blank sheet I made small cut outs that were exactly positioned so that when you place it above the Italian text, every hole shows only 1 letter. When you connect all the letters, you get a hint. My hint was “check the hydrant” where I put another piece of paper.

paper on paper puzzle

2. Invisible Text

This is one of those “wow effect” puzzles. Actually, you have to prepare this one at least one hour before the game starts. The trick is that there is an invisible text on the paper, which appears only when it is put under water. Coooool, right?

You don’t have to use chemicals or invisible inks, there is an easy way to do this.

You’ll need: 2 sheets of paper, 1 pencil, water in a tray and a smooth surface (a mirror will do the job).

  • Soak one of the papers in water to make it wet and place it over the mirror.
  • Take the dry paper and place it on the wet sheet of paper.
  • Write your message on the dry sheet using a pencil.
  • Throw away the paper in which you have written the message.

You can see that the message written on the dry sheet of paper also makes a slight imprint on the wet sheet of paper.

Allow it to dry completely. When it becomes completely dry, the imprint becomes invisible.

When the players put the paper under water, the message appears again, and that is the moment when they realize that you are an awesome game master.

3. GPS Coordinates

This puzzle is one of my favorites, because it triggers thinking outside the box. In my case it was a hidden piece of paper with a big number written on it. At least 1 out of 5 people for sure will recognize that the number is actually GPS coordinates. Because they were allowed to use everything in the room, it was time for them to put their smart phones into action. Using any GPS app, they can easily get to the destination.

Ok, so how is it possible to get out of the room in the middle of an escape room game?? That is a logical question, but as I said before, thinking outside the box brings lots more fun and unexpected puzzles. As soon as I changed the goal from escaping the room to finding the hidden treasure, a new world of possibilities opened. That means that the players are not necessarily locked in the room and that’s why the GPS puzzle is a very good option.

The location was across from my apartment, next to the high school entrance. When they got there, they found an envelope with another clue in it. Because the GPS satellites have a +-5 m error, you should find some object in that radius that cannot be missed and you should put the envelope next to it. In my game it was an electrical junction box and I put an electricity symbol next to the coordinate number as a hint. I even burned the sides of the paper so it looks kind of struck by lightning.

Trust me, the players will love this addition of treasure hunt to your escape room.

gps coordinates

4. Map of the apartment

In the envelope there was a simple map of the apartment with a mark on an exact location. On that location you should hide another clue.

Tip: Make this clue hard to find, so the players can’t reach it before they get the map. 
In my case, I put a cell phone in the couch. They needed to use this cell phone in order to solve the next challenge.

5. UV Lights

UV lights are among the most used puzzles in escape rooms. You don’t need a special kind of light or expensive markers to create this puzzle. You can do it with an everyday fluorescent yellow marker and a regular battery lamp.

First, Make the invisible ink

Some people are making a real mess trying to achieve this trick. They are opening the markers with pliers, washing them in hot water, boiling in a microwave, washing them again… oooooh is such a nightmare and a real fluorescent mess all around your kitchen. Many times these preparations end with failure and frustration. That’s why I like to make things simpler in order to make them better. Using the following method you can achieve the same effect without doing all of the things I mention before.

Take an illustration/picture with dark color background and write your message/clue on it, using the yellow fluorescent marker. Then hang it on any wall where the luminance is a bit lower. This way everything is visible except the hidden message, which appears under the black light only.
Trust me, this way the message appears better and it take less time to prepare the puzzle.

Tip: Don’t use just plain dark illustration/picture, rather use picture of something connected to your theme (like I did with the leaning tower of Pisa). This way even with brighter light in the room, the picture is a distraction to the message, and acts like a camouflage to it.

Don’t get confused that my background of Pisa is not so dark. I had no problem writing the code even on brighter background, because the picture was placed in part of the apartment where the light was very low.

Now Let’s make the black light:

You can use a regular battery lamp, or even a smart phone flashlight.

Just grab a piece of clear tape and stick it right on top of the flashlight/battery lamp. Then take a blue color highlighter and color it. Take another piece of tape, place it on top of the first tape and color it with the blue highlighter. Repeat this 5 times and you have a homemade black light.

6. Face recognition app

If you want to use some high tech puzzles, this is an interesting one.

I printed all kind of pictures connected with Italy and put them around my apartment. One of the pictures was Leonardo Da Vinci’s face. During the game they should use the cell phone they find in the couch. Actually when they unlock the smart phone, they find a face recognition app (this app is for unlocking other mobile apps). When they scan Da Vinci’s face using the app, a 4 digit code appears. You can use the Applock face/voice recognition app to make this puzzle. Btw, thank you, Da Vinci for your assistance.

face recognition app

7. Morse code

Cracking Morse code makes you feel like Alan Turing decoding the Enigma machine during WW2. By using Morse code, you can turn light, voice and sound signals into text information.

For example: Install a Morse code app on your smart phone. In the app, write the combination that opens your lock. Remove the bulb from your ceiling light and place the phone there.

Make sure your phone has enough battery to transmit flashlight Morse code for at least an hour. At one point in the game, players find a Morse alphabet. Ahaaaaa, the light isn’t broken after all, it is a coded message.

So when they crack the code, they open the lock that leads them to the next challenge. This puzzle isn’t an easy one, but when they finally solve it, it gives the players a lot of self-esteem and a feeling of accomplishment.

8. Tiny Tiny Tiny tiny text

This will make them squint like Clint, until they find the magnifying glass you should put in some of the locked boxes. Write your clue in Times new roman (font size 2) on a regular sheet of paper, but make sure it is printed on a good quality laser printer. Let’s see who needs a new pair of glasses.

tiny puzzle
tiny puzzle

9. Custom questions

This is a good way to wrap up your escape room game. Because you’re going to set up this game for your loved ones, friends or family, I suppose that you already know each of them very well. You are familiar with what they love, their favorite song, food, artist and so on. You probably have some inside jokes only the two of you are in on.

For example: One of my friends loves astronomy and knows a lot of things about the Universe, our solar system and so on. So I wrote down a question that he certainly knows the answer to (e.g.How many planets are in our solar system?)

Another friend of mine is a big NBA fan, so my question for him was: How many NBA titles has Michael Jordan won?

When they do the math, they get the combination (in this case 1990) for the last lock that opens the “treasure” box.

This puzzle makes them work together more than any other puzzle.

All of these questions must require a numeric answer.

custom questions

10. Interactive games and tasks

Not all of the challenges have to be logical puzzles. Of course, when you think of an escape room, the first thing that comes to mind are brainy challenges and “aha!” puzzles. But in order to keep the flow of the game, you have to include some challenges that don’t require actual thinking, rather they merely imply executing some tasks.

For example: Finding a hidden key in the room isn’t something you have to solve, you just have to inspect every corner in that room and there it is.

Having to connect dots to make hints appear is also a good example. Anyone can do it just by following the given directions for connecting the dots.

These tasks set the pace of the game, and it’s a great way to give the players a feeling of accomplishment. Their self-esteem rises as they solve this challenge, so they become more enthusiastic to finish the whole game.

Sometimes players can struggle when solving logical puzzles, and if you set up only logical challenges it may even become tedious. Maybe at first they will love to show how smart they really are, but eventually they may get tired of logical analysis. That’s why you should mix things up with this kind of tasks, which will keep the excitement throughout the whole game.

You can even throw in an interactive game in order to solve some of the challenges.

For example: Put one of the clues out of reach, but still visible. One option is to put a clue (padlock code) in a different room and lock the door with a padlock and chain. This way the door can be ajar just enough for the clue to be visible, but not enough for players to enter the room. 
Now, in front of the clue, place a piece of paper with an illustration of a target, covering the padlock code. They need to shoot the target with a bunch of rubber bands. When you hear a ”Yaaaaaay!”, you know that someone hit the target and under it the padlock code was revealed.

Last but not least

Use your imagination, take your creativity to the next level, try adding unusual ideas, wake up your inner child and you’ll be amazed by the outcome. People are often unaware of how capable they are until they put their hearts and souls into something they love.

My escape room crew instantly felt how much love I put in the game. It wasn’t decorated with expensive items, it didn’t include fancy gadgets, nor was it 100% perfect. But all of us (including me) were having the best time ever, compared to every room we have been to before. Positive energy, smiles, laughter, funny pictures of my crew hanging around the room, inside jokes between the lines in the puzzles… you can’t get this experience in any other room in the world, except in your own DIY escape room!

Our Ready To Play Kits

cover

Saving The Beauty Of Winter

cover

Houdini’s Secret Room

wooka booka island

Wooka Booka Island

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *